1878 Natural Form Bustle Overskirt from TV234 (2011)

 

324
1878 Long Draped Overskirt

 

I purchased this pattern using Christmas money with the goal of making myself a Steampunk outfit. I found a brown linen pinstripe at Jo-Ann’s and went to work. This was my first time using a Truly Victorian pattern and it will definitely not be the last. The most difficult part of this skirt are the pleats on the back and side front pieces, but they came together perfectly and easily. The skirt’s volume is held back into a bustle with two sets of ties and until they’re sewn in it’s very difficult to see the final shape of the skirt. When I tried on the skirt after putting them in, it looked perfect!

full-costumeIMG_3599steampunkboots1

All of the volume, none of the underwear, and just high enough on the sides to show my boots. I am exceedingly pleased with how this skirt turned out.

To go with this skirt I made a corset (using the Laughing Moon Silverado pattern) in red faux suede with a hand embroidered design of gears. My original intent was to do machine appliqué, but that turned out to harder than expected. I already have a gorgeous pair of boots and a blouse to wear with this outfit, but I think the accessorizing will be just as fun as making these pieces.

Wishlist: I have wanted Leia’s Endor uniform since I was a very little girl. I remember trying to wrap braids all the way around my head, but they wouldn’t reach. At this young age, I though the telephone was a magical piece of technology that could get you anything. I suggested to my mom that we could call “the people” and get a helmet. Unfortunately, she cut me off before I could finish my sentence and said “We are NOT getting a wig.” That was the end of that and I never got to be Leia for Halloween.

endor2

Leave a comment